Where we work

The ILO Decent Work Technical Support Team and Country Office for Central and Eastern Europe serves 19 countries in Central and Eastern Europe from the Baltic States to Albania, from the Czech Republic to Ukraine. The full list of countries includes Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo¹, Latvia, Lithuania, the Republic of North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.

The bulk of ILO support goes currently to the Western Balkans, Moldova, Ukraine and Georgia as for different reasons, these countries are facing the biggest challenges in providing decent and productive jobs to all women and men. The ILO has agreed with all these countries on Decent Work Country Programmes, which are medium-term planning frameworks based on ILO’s Decent Work Agenda. The implementation of the ILO support is coordinated by National Coordinators.

¹All references to Kosovo should be understood in the context of United Nations Security Council resolution 1244 (1999).