

GB.289bis/PFA/2/1 289thbis Session

## **Governing Body**

Geneva, June 2004

**Programme, Financial and Administrative Committee** 

**PFA** 

### SECOND ITEM ON THE AGENDA

### Other questions

# Appointments to the ILO Staff Pension Committee (United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board)

- 1. In accordance with article 6(c) of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, three members and three alternate members are appointed to the ILO Staff Pension Committee (United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board) by the International Labour Conference on the recommendation of the Governing Body. The Governing Body decided at its 253rd Session (May-June 1992) that appointments to the Staff Pension Committee should reflect tripartite representation. The appointments for the period 9 October 2004 to 8 October 2007 are placed before the current session of the Governing Body for recommendation to the 92nd Session (June 2004) of the International Labour Conference.
- **2.** The three-year terms of the following Staff Pension Committee members and alternate members appointed by the Conference expire on 8 October 2004:

Mr. W. Ringkamp (Germany)

Mr. M. Barde (Employers)

Mr. M. Blondel (Workers)

Mr. R.-M. Schibli (Switzerland)

Mr. P. Simonsen (Denmark)

Mr. A. Young (United Kingdom)

**3.** Mr. Ringkamp and Mr. Schibli are unable to continue to serve. The Government group has proposed that Mr. D. Willers be appointed member to fill the seat that is presently occupied by Mr. Ringkamp. Mr. T. Montant, a Swiss pension specialist, is willing to replace Mr. Schibli as alternate member. It is recommended that the remaining members of the Committee be reappointed in order to ensure continuity within the Committee.

4. The Committee may therefore wish to propose to the Governing Body that it submit the following resolution to the Conference at its 92nd Session (June 2004):

The General Conference of the International Labour Organization:

Appoints to the ILO Staff Pension Committee (United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board), for a period of three years until 8 October 2007, the following members and alternate members:

#### Members:

Mr. D. Willers (Government representative (retired), Germany)

Mr. M. Barde (Employers)

Mr. M. Blondel (Workers)

### Alternate members:

Mr. T. Montant (Switzerland)

Mr. P. Simonsen (Denmark)

Mr. A. Young (United Kingdom)

Geneva, 28 May 2004.

Point for decision: Paragraph 4.

2